Go to content area

Sp.634 Famous Church Architecture in Taiwan Postage Stamps

Facebook Twitter Print
Stamp SN D634
Stamp Name Sp.634 Famous Church Architecture in Taiwan Postage Stamps
Stamp Cat Standard Special Stamps
Stamp Cat Scenic Spots, Architecture
Issue date 2016-02-04
Suspersion date
Dimension of stamps(mm.) 51 × 33 or 33 × 51 (mm)
Size of souvenir Sheet (mm.)
Printer Cardon Enterprise Co., Ltd.
Designer Hung-tu Ko
Creative Director
Sheet composition 16(4 × 4)
Print color Colorful
Process Offset
Paper Phosphorescent stamp paper<br>
Perforation 131/2
Having previously issued “Famous Works of Buddhist Architecture in Taiwan Postage Stamps” in 2007, the Post is now following up with a new collection of four stamps, “Famous Church Architecture in Taiwan Postage Stamps.” Designs follow:

1. Church of St. Joseph Jinlun (NT$5): The church sits in Taimali Township in Taitung County, and is known for its rich Paiwan flair. It resembles an urn, and its roof is covered with glass, allowing sunshine to dapple through. A cubic cross is erected atop the church. The top of the entrance is adorned with a chieftain headdress. The diamond-shaped windows and the rock patterns mirror two hundred-pace snakes, standing guard.
2. Holy Family Church Taipei (NT$5): Located in Daan District, Taipei City, this church is a well-known Catholic church. The facade displays a large cross and the name of the church with a background of many rectangular stained glass pieces. At its right side is a bell tower featuring a big cross on top; on ground level is a statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary in a prayerful pose.
3. Minor Basilica of the Immaculate Conception - Wanjin (NT$12): Situated in Wanluan Township, Pingtung County, the church is modeled after a Spanish mission. From 1861, missionaries started traveling between Pingtung and Kaohsiung to preach; the church was completed in 1870 and is the oldest church which maintains its original appearance in Taiwan. Listed as a historic monument, the church features white lime walls. Red bricks are inlaid around the windows and the entrance. The inscription at the front entrance hails from the Qing dynasty. In 1984, the church was bestowed with the title of basilica.
4. Minor Basilica - Cathedral of the Holy Rosary (NT$12): Located in Lingya District, Kaohsiung City, this church is the cradle of pastoral work restarted in 1859, after the missionary activities during the Ming dynasty were disrupted. After several renovations, it became a Gothic-styled cathedral, featuring rose windows, stained glass, flying buttresses, and groined vaults. The board with the imperial order, "On Imperial Order" was granted by the Emperor Tongzhi of the Qing dynasty. The Pope bestowed the church with the title of basilica in 1995.
Also released with the stamps is a beautifully designed stamp folio. The folio contains a set of four stamps, four maximum cards and four postal cards featuring historical relics housed at the Vatican.
(1) First Day Cover: NT$3 apiece
(2) Folder (with or without mount): NT$8 apiece
(3) Loose-leaf album page: NT$16 apiece
(4) Pre-cancelled FDC affixed with one NT$5-denominated stamp:
NT$8 apiece
(5) Pre-cancelled FDC affixed with a complete set of stamps:
NT$37 apiece
(6) Stamp folio: NT$200 a copy

To purchase the relative philatelic products, please go directly to the post office branches, or order on line at https://stamp.post.gov.tw.