Go to content area

Special 12 Leaders of Democracy Stamps (1959)

Facebook Twitter Print
Stamp SN D012
Stamp Name Special 12 Leaders of Democracy Stamps (1959)
Stamp Cat Standard Special Stamps
Stamp Cat Chiefs Of State, National Flags
Issue date 1959-12-25
Suspersion date 1962-08-01
Dimension of stamps(mm.) 44.5 x29.5
Size of souvenir Sheet (mm.)
Printer Printing Bureau of the Ministry of Finance, Japan
Designer Wen Huseh-ju
Creative Director
Sheet composition 5×8
Print color
Process Photogravure
Paper Photogravure stamp paper
Perforation 12 或 13 1/2

  In 1942 the United States Post Office Department issued a set of postage stamps in commemoration of the 5th anniversary of our War of Resistance against Japan with the portraits of Dr. Sun Yat-sen and Mr. Abraham Lincoln as a part of its central design. The year 1959 being the sesquicentennial of Mr. Abraham Lincoln's birthday and the year when both nations united in a common front against communism, this Postal Administration issued a set of Leaders of Democracy- postage stamps in honor of the efforts of these two great men in preserving human rights and justice. The stamp bears the American and Chinese national flags as the background and the portraits of Mr. Abraham Lincoln and Dr. Sun Yat-sen as the central design.