Go to content area

Commemorative 142 10th Anniverary of Asian-Oceanic Postal Union Commemorative Issue (1972)

Facebook Twitter Print
Stamp SN B142
Stamp Name Commemorative 142 10th Anniverary of Asian-Oceanic Postal Union Commemorative Issue (1972)
Stamp Cat Standard Commemorative Stamps
Stamp Cat Birds, Post && Telecommunications, Emblems, Organizations
Issue date 1972-04-01
Suspersion date
Dimension of stamps(mm.) 37x29
Size of souvenir Sheet (mm.)
Printer China Engraving & Printing Works, R.O.C.
Designer Lin Yuan-shen
Creative Director
Sheet composition 10×10
Print color
Process Deep etch offset
Paper 76-lb 〝郵〞 (post) watermarked paper with red-blue fiber
Perforation 13 1/2
  Initiated by the Republic of China and convened by the Philippines, the 1961 Manila Postal Conference was held in Manila in January 1961. Other participants were Japan, Republic of Korea, and Thailand. Since Australia and New Zealand raised the rank of their observers, whom they had sent to the Conference, to full representatives, it was resolved that the Asian Oceanic Postal Union (AOPU), a restricted postal union, be organized to include countries in the region of both Asia and Oceania. A convention to this effect was signed. This convention was subsequently ratified by the governments of the Republic of China, the Republic of Korea, the Philippines, and Thailand. The AOPU was officially formed on April 1, 1962 with a membership of the above-mentioned four countries only. Later Laos, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, and Indonesia have joined the Union. By 1972 the AOPU had a membership of nine countries. The AOPU has sponsored projects like the reciprocal exchange of postal officials for observation and study of postal facilities, the establishment of a regional postal school in Bangkok, the organization of seminars, and reduced postage rates on mail items. It has during the decade contributed much to the improvement of mail services in the region as well as to the promotion of international cooperation.

  In order to celebrate the 10th Anniversary of the AOPU, a pair of commemoratives both with the same design of nine flying doves to signify the nine member countries of the Union dedicated to efficient mail service, liberty, justice, peace, and prosperity was issued.